Social Studies

Welcome!

Welcome to the Ramapo-Indian Hills Regional High School District Social Studies Department.  The RIH District currently offers courses of study in World Civilizations, United States History 1 & 2, Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Law & Human Rights, Modern European History, Psychology, Sociology, and Sports History at a variety of academic levels.  We pride ourselves on offering a program that introduces students to a comparative study of past and contemporary global societies.  Additionally, students will develop skills in research and analysis of primary documents and interpretations of scholarly work.  Our teachers utilize best practices in their content areas and vary their assessment strategies to reflect their students’ ability to think critically and communicate effectively.  We encourage our students to analyze evidence, read closely to formulate opinions based on evidence and develop a spirit of inquiry and curiosity to guide them as they as they develop into engaged and thoughtful citizens.


"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning." --
Albert Einstein


Students interested in the Social Studies may enjoy participating in the following clubs and activities: Academic Decathlon, Amnesty International, Interact, Mock Trial, Model United Nations, Student Council

Subject Supervisor
Joseph A. Del Bouno
jdelbuono@rih.org, voicemail extension: 2259

Mr. Michael Ivanov mivanov@rih.org ext: 6209
Ms. Cynthia Vander Molen cvandermolen@rih.org ext:5109
Ms. Hailee Gregory hailee.gregory@rih.org ext:5234
Mr. Dan Laner d.laner@rih.org ext:5147
Mr. Chris Mayer cmayer@rih.org ext:6184
Mr. Tom Witterschein twitterschein@rih.org ext: 5115
Mr. Dan Vander Molen dvandermolen@rih.org ext:
Mr. Michael Nangle mnangle@rih.org ext:5077
Ms. Staci Anson sanson@rih.org ext:5003
Ms. Pamela Sibilia psibilia@rih.org ext:5006
Ms. Teresita Crane tcrane@rih.org ext:5030
Mr. Scott Jackson sjackson@rih.org ext:5058
Ms. Christine Kamper ckamper@rih.org ext: 6182
Ms. Meredith Noah
mnoah@rih.org ext:5079
Mr. Michael Verdon mverdon@rih.org ext:6015
Ms. Kimberly LoBello klobello@rih.org ext:5158