Mathematics

Welcome to the Ramapo High School Mathematics Department Website.  The mathematics program is designed to provide a strong foundation in mathematics for all students.  Students will be taught the skills needed to be successful in college mathematics, and those with advanced mathematical ability can take courses that are taught at a faster pace, explore concepts at a deeper level, and have the opportunity to take Advanced Placement math courses. 

The teachers in the Mathematics department are highly qualified to deliver a rigorous mathematics curriculum to their students.  Open-ended questions and real-life applications are emphasized, and students are challenged to develop their critical thinking and problem-solving skills.  Students are often given the opportunity to work collaboratively with each other in their math classes to explore and reinforce concepts. 

Recommended Calculators - Students in all Mathematics courses are strongly encouraged to have their own graphing calculator. The Mathematics department recommends the Texas Instruments models TI 84 - TI 84 Plus calculators, as these will be used by all of our math teachers in class. The use of these calculators is permitted on district, state, and national assessments including the PARCC, SAT, SAT Subject Tests, ACT and Advanced Placement exams. In addition to high school math courses, these calculators will also be appropriate for college level studies.

Math and Computer Science Course Offerings – all courses are listed in the Program of Studies. 

Computer Science program – as indicated in our Program of Studies, Computer Science Honors, AP Computer Science A and AP Computer Science Principles are offered at our high school

Pathways- Several Mathematics courses are included in the Business/Computer Science Pathway Program- please reference Pathways page of Program of Studies

Extra help – Extra help is provided by teachers after school.  Any student who has additional questions or would like extra practice is encouraged to see his or her teacher for extra help.

Math Team - Our Math Team participates in both the Bergen County Math League and the New Jersey Math League.   The Math Team adviser is John Gaccione.    

Subject Supervisor
Michael Kaplan
mkaplan@rih.org,
201-891-1500 x2255

Ramapo High School Math Teachers:

Name

Email

extension

Lee Barber

 lbarber@rih.org Ext. 5005

Jaclyn Brennecke

jbrennecke@rih.org

Ext. 6039

Matthew Caulfield

mcaulfield@rih.org

Ext. 6181

Nicole Chermark

nchermark@rih.org

Ext. 6008

John Gaccione

jgaccione@rih.org

Ext. 5045

Mark Jacobus

mjacobus@rih.org

Ext. 6046

Michael Kaplan

mkaplan@rih.org

Ext. 2255

Allison Lombardi

alombardi@rih.org

Ext. 5190

Matt O’Neill

moneill@rih.org

Ext. 5218

Lona Ozrek

lozrek@rih.org

Ext. 6203

Pam Pappas

ppappas@rih.org

Ext. 5083

Ariel Shortino

ashortino@rih.org

Ext. 5175

Niki Slovinksi

nslovinski@rih.org

Ext. 5074

Alexandra Tomaselli

atomaselli@rih.org

Ext. 5170

Linea Van Dyke

lvandyke@rih.org

Ext. 5106

Elizabeth Wang

ewang@rih.org

Ext. 5219